~ Animation Inspiration: Gregory Verreault’s Un Sacré Mariage!

I know it’s going to be a given that this short will appeal to those who’ve had to sit through a long church sermon, but I think it’s going to be the old-school Universal Productions of America (UPA)-inspired aesthetic that will be even more appealing to animation lovers. Ren and Stimpy used the same style and I’ve always wanted to explore that 50’s-esque look (gosh, now that I have Ren and Stimpy on the mind, I have to say that I really miss their classic close-ups…heh heh, would you believe that when I was a kid, my folks tried to keep me from watching this show?).

Anyway, if I had to say today what my animation style focus might be for this year’s holiday short, I’d have to say it’s going to be influenced by that 50’s design aesthetic, mainly because I like the idea of encouraging nostalgia around that time of the year. So, with 50’s inspired animation in mind, I thought I’d share an award-winning treat from Gregory Verreault that showcases it perfectly:

Have a thought?

